Celebrating Their Inner Boys

The (mostly) girl band, Those Darlins, celebrates their inner boys in this song, “Be Your Bro,” from their new album, Screws Get Loose.

Those Darlins – Nikki, Jessi, and Kelley, all with the shared stage surname Darlin – also include male drummer Linwood Regensburg.

While the focus of the song and video is straight – record label PR said the girls “land somewhere to the left of center on the Kinsey Scale” – there’s plenty of grrl-power eye-candy in the video to enjoy. The sentiment of the song is tomboy bonding, which I appreciate, even if these girls won’t grow up to be the dapper butches I love.

In fact, the song reminds me – in spirit, not style – of Dar Williams‘ “When I Was a Boy,” a song that always makes me cry a little.

2 responses to “Celebrating Their Inner Boys

  1. Thanks so much for posting this!
    That Dar song is lovely and The Darlins are super cute.

  2. Hi!
    My name is Clara and I study Advertising and PR in the University of Girona (Catalonia). We were asked to create a blog about whatever we wanted. I chose LGBT news as my topic. We were asked to get in touch with people who, in some way, were related to our blog and encourage them to comment our posts, follow us or add us on their blogrolls. As you will see it’s in Catalan, but there’s a translator in English which is quite reliable ^^ However, in some time I try to translate it myself 😉

    I found your blog and I thought you could be interested 😉

    Here’s the link:
    http://itsnotaphase.blogspot.com

    I really hope you like it.
    Thanks for your time 😉

Leave a Reply

