The Bechdel Movie Test

I’ve written about the “Bechdel Rule” for movies and television shows in this space before. It’s a simple three-point screening tool testing the presence and value of women in television and film. The idea was originally generated in Alison Bechdel‘s Dykes to Watch Out For comic. You can see the original panel here.

Today I picked up this great video on Alison Bechdel’s blog. The video originated on FeministFrequency.com and I thought it was worthy of sharing:

2 responses to “The Bechdel Movie Test

  1. I’ve seen the Bechdel Test referenced before, but didn’t know what the rules were. And wow, yeah, simple set of rules, but not often met. This is going to be on my mind when I watch movies from now on.

  2. I love it

Leave a Reply

