Can a Shoe Be Just Plain Wrong?

untitledWhen I saw this in the NYT’s Style magazine spring fashion issue a few weeks ago, I almost choked. And then I ran across it again… and I’m still choking. This sandal from the Dior spring line seems utterly misguided in so many ways: It’s a really tacky misappropriation of another culture. It comes across as anti-woman, and in the Times photo it had a black heel and looked incredibly racist.

Hell, it doesn’t even look comfortable.

If you insist on grinding someone’s sacred fertility goddess under your heel (black or white, choose your insult), you can do it for $1,590. I know it seems like a lot, but for that price you get both shoes.

**********************

3 responses to “Can a Shoe Be Just Plain Wrong?

  1. Takes ‘f*ck-me-pumps’ to a whole new level.

  2. Wow, that is wrong on so many levels, I don’t even know where to start.

Leave a Reply

