Two Susans, One Bisexual, One – Alas – Not

In my fantasy life, sometimes I get to be Kevin Costner in Bull Durham, delivering this speech to Susan Sarandon. Only, in my fantasy I’m not a guy, I’m just me, and well… the cock part is high-grade silicone, but you get the picture:

And now, author and academic David Rieff, the only child of Susan Sontag, has announced that he is releasing her personal diaries, which she kept faithfully throughout her life.

The story on the British Independent Books website says this:

Although it was common knowledge that Sontag was bisexual – most famously noted by her relationship with the photographer Annie Leibovitz – she never spoke frankly about her bisexuality in public.

The publication of her diaries for the first time, beginning when she was just 14, reveals an intimate portrait of her sexual encounters with women two years later. In the passages, Sontag alludes to her sexuality at the age of 15: “I am very young, and perhaps the most disturbing aspects of my ambitions will be outgrown … so now I feel I have lesbian tendencies (how reluctantly I write this).”

Aged 16, she writes of her first sexual encounter, with a woman only referred to as “H”, to protect her identity: “Perhaps I was drunk, after all, because it was so beautiful when H began making love to me …. It had been 4:00 before we had gotten to bed … I became fully conscious that I desired her, she knew it, too….”

I don’t mean this post as a criticism of Sontag’s work. I guess this is really just a post about how my mind works, and about the two Susans, Sontag and Sarandon… one bisexual, and one that I can only dream about.

**********************



Leave a Reply

