New No On Prop. 8 Ad Focuses on Civil Rights

It wasn’t enough that Samuel L. Jackson’s resonant voice thrilled me to the tips of my toes when he yelled “Enough is enough! I have had it with these motherfucking snakes on this motherfucking plane!” in the cult movie thriller Snakes on a Plane. Now he’s lending his beautiful voice to the defeat of California’s Proposition 8:

**********************

2 responses to “New No On Prop. 8 Ad Focuses on Civil Rights

  1. Of course vote NO on PROP 8, PLEASE, but it is a sickening, disgusting vote in the first place.

    Imagine a heterosexual man sitting back peacefully as society voted on whether he, his wife, and his children deserved the rights and protections of civil marriage. What would HE think of PROP 8 in CA? Would he even THINK of opening up his wallet to fund a PR drive to gain a chance to “win” this civil right? Or would it be “Live Free or Die”, Pride & Glory, etc.?

    Yet we (the gay community), and our allies have agreed – AGREED – to hash out this “debate” with a public PROP 8 lottery (it’s not a debate…I KNOW I DESERVE MARRIAGE).

    Here’s my “NON-Debate for PROP 8” – It really doesn’t matter what others may “think” or “not think” at this point. I will not pay an organization for Human Rights, Family Rights, Civil Rights, or Constitutional Rights. I will simply refuse to file my IRS tax returns until my FAMILY is equal under the law.

    VOTE ON THAT!

  2. You’ve got a point.

    However, I have to say I think that legal same-sex marriage may not be the ultimate answer.

    I propose that NO ONE should be legally married by a church. Allowing churches, temples, etc. to create legally-recognized marriages is a blatant mixture of church and state. Everyone, straight or gay, should have civil unions, recognized at the federal level (the highest level we pay taxes to)… and then churches can provide weddings, blessings – what have you – to their membership, above and beyond the federal union.

Leave a Reply

